Regulatory Innovation Award Honors Bipartisan Policy Center

New York, May 1, 2014 – Morrison & Foerster LLP announced the Bipartisan Policy Center as this year’s recipient of the Burton Foundation’s annual Regulatory Innovation Award. Morrison & Foerster established this award in 2008 through the Burton Foundation to honor an academic or non-elected public official whose innovative ideas have made a significant contribution to the discourse on regulatory reform in the arena of corporate governance, securities, capital markets or financial institutions. This year, for the first time, the award is being given to a group. In an era of intense and often unproductive partisanship, the work of the Bipartisan Policy Center stands out as worthy of recognition.

The Bipartisan Policy Center is a Washington-based non-profit organization that works to advance policy solutions. Since the adoption of the Dodd-Frank Act, the Bipartisan Policy Center, through its Financial Regulatory Reform Initiative, has focused on analyzing and formulating detailed studies and advancing recommendations on many of the most important regulatory changes brought about by the Act. Since the initiative launched in 2012, the Bipartisan Policy Center has brought together industry leaders and academics to engage in thoughtful and rigorous consideration of various aspects of regulatory reform. White papers on topics such as Too Big To Fail, the Volcker Rule, the Lincoln Amendment and the role and progress of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, have provided constructive and actionable recommendations that have been lauded by lawmakers from both parties. The initiative also has articulated an innovative approach to financial services regulation, set forth in its study, “Dodd-Frank’s Missed Opportunity.”

The work of the Bipartisan Policy Center will be honored on June 9, 2014 at the Burton Awards ceremony in the U.S. Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens also will be honored that evening for his recent book. Last year’s honoree was Raghuram Rajan. To learn more about the Regulatory Innovation Award, as well as prior winners, click here. To learn more about the Burton Foundation, see
Upcoming Events
Past Award Seasons